Visit NFL from the sidelines on the new Observer-Reporter site:

Friday, January 08, 2010

Hall of Fame finalists announced

Defensive coordinator Dick LeBeau and former All-Pro center Dermontti Dawson were among the 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced Friday.

The list also includes Tim Brown, Cris Carter, Don Coryell, Roger Craig, Dermonti Dawson, Richard Dent, Russ Grimm, Charles Haley, Rickey Jackson, Cortez Kennedy, Dick LeBeau, Floyd Little, John Randle, Andre Reed, Jerry Rice, Shannon Sharpe and Emmitt Smith.

Between four and seven members will be selected from that group. LeBeau and Little are senior committee picks and are considered locks.

Smith and Rice are also considered locks, leaving likely one or two more players to get in.

That will probably mean Dawson gets passed over once again. Of that group, I'd probably vote for Andre Reed, a key contributor on four Super Bowl teams, and Shannon Sharpe.

No comments: